Board of Fire & Police Commissioners

Board of Fire and Police Commissioners

Since Montgomery does not have a municipal fire department, this Board functions only in matters pertaining to the police department, and is commonly referred to locally as the Police Commission. The Board consists of 3 individuals appointed by the Village President and confirmed by the Board of Trustees. Members serve for a three-year term.

This is governed by the provisions of Division 2.1 of Article 10 of the Illinois Municipal Code.


Jason Bragg (President)

Kendall Wilson (Secretary)

Brian Baier (Commissioner)

All meetings are open to the public. Meetings are scheduled to be held the second Wednesday of each month at 7 PM at the Montgomery Police Department. However, meetings will be canceled if there is no business to conduct at the time. Meeting notices and notices of cancellations will be posted at the Police Department at least 48 hours before the meeting.

Police Commission Duties

The Police Commission is responsible for the following: 

1. Advertise, accept applications, and conduct testing of police applicants in order to establish an eligibility list for the Police Department.

2. Conduct testing of current officers in order to establish an eligibility list for promotions within the Police Department.

3. Determine disciplinary action regarding officers when charges are brought by the Chief of Police against any member of the Police Department.

Law Enforcement Final Eligibility Register 05-13-21 (Expires 05-13-23)