Community Awards

Green Power Community 2020
- Gold Award (2013): Clean Air Counts
- Fab 40 (2012): The Conservation Foundation
Governor’s Hometown Award (2011 – Project Winner in History & Historic Preservation for Settler’s Cottage): State of Illinois
Governor’s Hometown Award (2010 – Dickson-Murst Farm Public Education Program): State of Illinois
The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Presentation Award (2006 – Advocacy for the Dickson-Murst Farmstead): Landmarks Preservation Council of Illinois


Project of the Year Award: Government/Public (2009 – Montgomery Village Hall): Midwest Construction
- Merit Award (2009 – Montgomery Village Hall): Chicago Building Congress

Community Development

SolSmart Gold Award June 2019
- CRS (Community Rating System) Classification of 5 for Flood Insurance April 2020
- Excellence in Landscaping Silver Award 2012
- Excellence in Landscaping Gold Award 2015


Distinguished Budget Presentation (2012 to 2019): Government Finance Officers Association
- Excellence in Financial Reporting (2002 to 2019): Government Finance Officers Association


Rising Shields of Law Enforcement – Sergeant Elizabeth Palko (2013): Illinois Association of Chiefs of Police

Public Works

- ArbNet Level II Arboreta Accreditation
- Tree City USA 2022
Stormwater Management Award (2011): Illinois Association for Floodplain and Stormwater Management
- Conservation and Native Landscaping Award (2010 – Naturalized Storm Water Management Facilities): Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), Region 5 & Chicago Wilderness Association
- Outstanding Use of Native Plants Award (2010): Environmental Protection Agency, Region 5 & Chicago Wilderness Association 
- Municipal Development Control Award (2007 – Naturalized Stormwater Management Guidelines): The Chaddick Institute at DePaul University
- Perfect Fluoride Compliance Commendation (2005 to 2010): Illinois Public Health Association, Division of Oral Health